comments 5

tea time – 2

Here’s where I’m at with my Tea Towel Challenge hosted by Victoria Findlay Wolfe at 15 Minutes of Play.: IMG_0078

Here’s how I got there:

  • To make the first border, I cut each column of flying geese (from my never finished placemat) in half. There was just enough length to go around the towel perfectly.  But it seemed to need something to separate this border further from the tea towel.geese
  • So I dug into my stash again. I found iron-on black bias tape and polka dotted thin grosgrain ribbon and came up with this. Hmmmm – maybe. I do love that ribbon after all!border
  • I didn’t have a lot of red scraps so I made fabric with them. I wanted to add bits of color to my previously made drab railroad blocks.  So I made tumbler blocks of various sizes wih my red made fabric.  I auditioned them – but it wasn’t working for me. Those railroad blocks are still so dark and muddy. I left them hanging on my wall and decided to take a fresh look in the morning.made fabric
  • A stroke of serendipity!  I stumbled onto a blog and found the perfect way to insert color into those railroad blocks.  It’s Amy Gibson’s tutorial for Night Sky: A Floating Triangle. So I chopped up my tumbler blocks, added more white to those made blocks, cut these into smaller rectangles and made two floating triangle blocks. Lookin’ good!
  • progressI still have more decisions to make: Do I skip the polka dot grosgrain ribbon?  Do I make floating blocks with solid white and black centers? Do I make odder shaped centers instead of triangles?  I’ll answer these and probably more on this journey but for now I’m happy where this is headed! More importantly I’m having so much fun doing it. I love just chopping up fabric any way I want!
5 Comments

  1. So I drafted a gored skirt not knowing what I was doing and got her friend to make it for me on my mum’s apparently broken machine.

  2. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult
    to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual
    appeal. I must say you have done a excellent job with this.
    Also, the blog loads super fast for me on Firefox.
    Excellent Blog!

  3. P.

    I absolutely love those floating triangle blocks for your quilt. Serendipity rules!

Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to leave me a comment!

