comments 2

tea time – 1

Nirvana – quilting + Downton Abbey all day long!  And how appropriate to be watching this wonderful, very English series today because I’m working on my tea towel medallion quilt.  It’s a challenge hosted by Victoria Findlay Wolfe at 15 Minutes of Play.tea towel

My tea towel has been hanging in my studio (which is where it will stay once embellished) and I’ve been jotting down notes about what I would like to do with it.  Here they are:

  • use up rectangular blocks made from black + white strips of fabric I made years ago for a railroad quilt; never made it though because the blocks were just too muddy
  • add snippets of color – turquoise because it is my favorite color and what partially drew me to the towel
  • the more I looked at the towel the more it reminded me of a coloring book picture waiting to be colored in; so I wanted to add colors especially on the pennants; maybe red paint, or applique material, or embroider a couple of them especially make red french knots on the dotted ones

So I pulled out fabrics yesterday and some embroidery floss:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sewn fabric in the upper left hand corner was the start of placemats but all those small flying geese were too tedious for me! But now it’s a happy find.  I’m going to chop it up and use it for my first frame around my towel!

So like the towel says “Hey Ho, hey ho, it’s off to sew I go,”  Invariably I have to sing it out loud when I see the towel!

2 Comments

Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to leave me a comment!

